Sunday, October 07, 2007

Timeline: Barangay and SK elections

Manila Times SPECIAL REPORT: Barangay, SK polls

Timeline: Barangay and SK elections

April 15, 1975
The Kabataang Barangay (KB) was created by virtue of then-President Ferdinand Marcos' Presidential Decree No. 684, which provided for the organization of KBs in all barangay units nationwide.

On May 1, 1975
About 3 million Filipinos, age 15 to 18 years old, participated in the first national KB elections.

April 1980
The second KB national elections
were held.

March 25, 1982
Batas Pambansa Blg. 222, an act providing for the election of
barangay officials, was approved.

May 17, 1982
For the first time, barangay
elections were held in the
country's 42,000 barangay units.

March 28, 1989
The second barangay elections were held.

October 10, 1991
Republic Act 7160, also known as the Local Government Code of 1991, was approved. R.A. 7160 abolished the Kabataang Barangay and replaced it with the Sangguniang Kabataan.

December 2, 1992
The first Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections were held.

May 9, 1994
The third barangay elections were held.

May 6, 1996
The second SK elections were held.

May 12, 1997
The fourth barangay elections
were held. Famous Namfrel
Chairman Jose Concepcion Jr.
ran for the position of barangay chairman of Forbes Park, Makati
City, and won.

March 19, 2002
Republic Act 9164, an act providing for synchronized barangay and SK elections, was approved in Congress.

May 21-22, 2002
Poor turnout in the young voters' registration prompted calls for the abolition of SK.

July 15, 2002
Barangay and SK elections were held simultaneously for the first time.

September 22, 2005
Republic Act 9340, an act resetting the barangay and SK elections, was approved. The said republic act states that the subsequent synchronized barangay and SK elections shall be held on the last Monday of October and every three years thereafter.

July 31, 2007
The last day of voters' registration for barangay elections.

August 5, 2007
The last day of voters' registration for SK elections.

September 5 to 7, 2007
Student leaders, educators, top officials of the League of Municipalities and League of Cities of the Philippines, among other groups, called for the abolition of the SK.

September 17, 2007
The House of Representatives passed House Bill 2417, postponing the barangay and SK elections, originally set October 29, to the first Monday of May 2009.

September 23, 2007
Sen. Manuel Villar said the Senate does not agree with the postponement of the barangay and SK elections and instead pushed for polls to go ahead on the October 29 polls. Villar also assured that the Senate would not file its own version of the bill for the postponement.

September 28, 2007
The filing of candidacy for the synchronized elections started.

September 29, 2007
The Philippine National Police began its implementation of the mandatory 45-day gun ban in preparation for the upcoming barangay and SK elections.

October 1, 2007
Commission on Elections Chairman Benjamin Abalos Sr. resigned. The poll body, however, assured the upcoming barangay and SK elections will be held as scheduled.

October 3, 2007
President Gloria Arroyo asked members of both chambers of Congress to support the House proposal seeking a two-year postponement of the October 29 synchronized barangay and SK elections.

October 18, 2007
The deadline of the filing of candidacy for both elections

No comments: