Saturday, September 02, 2006

NUJP elects new officers

Looks to negotiate better pay for correspondents
Ansbert Joaquin becomes member of the Directorate

THE National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP) elected a new set of officers during its 5th congress in Tagaytay City Sunday and Monday.

The lateral guild, which has been campaigning for press freedom and the safety of journalists, was asked by congress delegates to look into the possibility of negotiating a better compensation package for correspondents and stringers of national news outfits.

It will also lobby with Congress for the passage of a freedom of information act to ensure journalists’ access to government documents “vital to the practice of their profession and in pursuit of the public interest,” the strengthening of laws protecting the relationship between reporters and their sources, and the scrapping of any proposed measures that threaten freedom of the press and of expression, most notably the anti terrorism bill.

The NUJP will also work to establish a national awards system honoring journalists for ethical practice and convince news outfits to observe the principle of presumption of innocence by stopping the practice of publicly presenting suspects until a case is properly filed in court.

Elected chairman was Jose Torres Jr. of Vice chairman is Sonny Fernandez of ABC-5; secretary general is Rowena Paraan, coordinator of the International Federation of Journalists-NUJP safety office.

Deputy secretary general is Nonoy Espina of, treasurer is May Rodriguez, and auditor is Artemio Dumlao Jr. of the Philippine Star and NUJP-Baguio.

The other members of the national directorate are Ansbert Joaquin, Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI) and NUJP-Olongapo; Rommel Rebollido, the Philippine Star and NUJP-General Santos City; Maureen Japzon, Eastern Times and NUJP-Tacloban; Diosa Labiste, PDI and NUJP-Iloilo;

Inday Espina-Varona, Philippine Graphic; Bobby Labalan, PDI and NUJP-Sorsogon; Grace Albasin, PDI and NUJP-Cagayan de Oro; Marlon Ramos, PDI NUJP-Laguna; and Nestor Burgos, PDI and NUJP-Iloilo

No comments: